Two Up, thumbs down

Rebecca and I decide to head down to the Dualsport Plus after party party, held and Les and Catherine’s house on the Hamilton beachfront.  Tonight is the first time Rebecca has actually been on the back of the BMW!

I can’t believe how little we’ve been out on my bikes this year together.  I also can’t believe that we still haven’t picked up any proper riding gear for Rebecca.  She still only has a half shell helmet, and no proper riding boots.  At least she has a nice jacket and riding pants…

We gear up and jump on the bike.  Rebecca is a little hesitant at first as it’s a lot higher seat than by Harley that she’s used to.  The next big challenge for her is that there is no rear backrest like on the Harley – just a little grab bar behind her.  I tell her to hold on tight to me, then correct myself.  “Hold on firmly to me.”  Tight means I can hardly move to control the bike!

We blast down the road and Rebecca is stunned (and a little scared) at how much more power the R1150GSA has over a ’73 Harley FLH.  A few minutes later we drop into Dualsport Plus and then follow Catherine back to her house for the party (which reminds me, looking at Catherine’s flashing brake light module, that I need to install one on my bike before the trip).

Les and Catherine’s house is absolutely stunning inside.  A beautiful, modern condo, with gorgeous views of the lake, and a professionally landscaped backyard that even meets my high standards.

We enjoy an evening of conversation with fellow riders, all of whom are vastly more experienced than me, and then blast on home in the dark with a million more ideas for the bike, gear, and the trip… including figuring out a backrest solution for Rebecca, who has vowed not to ride without one in Belize.  I hope the gear strapped to the rear rack will make her more comfortable…

Categories: Misc | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Let's hear what you think!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

