Day 16 – Rumbling down the Road

I woke up in the middle of the night sweating.  Then I got this familiar taste in my mouth.  For the past couple of years I’ve been having some strange stomach issues that mimic food poisoning.  Just prior to my trip I had a series of blood work done, and an ultrasound.  Those revealed nothing, and ruled out iron overload (I’m Hemochromatosis positive) and Gall Stones.  We plan on doing more tests after my trip, but for now I know that the next couple of hours, and maybe days, are not going to be pleasant.

By 6 am I’m in the throws of my “food poisoning’ episode (and no, it’s not the Grasshopper Tacitos from last night, although they do make an encore appearance).  I’m worried because today I need to make some huge miles to stay on track to pick up Rebecca on Monday.  At 10 o’clock the worst is passed (literally), and now I just need to try to get my bowels to settle down enough to ride.

At noon, feeling very weak and unsteady, I mount the bike.  Not looking forward to this!

The bumps on the highways are not great for my stomach, and I worry each time I stop that my legs will be too weak to hold the bike up.  Belly rumbling, I roll on down the highway.

At 7pm, just after dark, I’ve made 650 km from Oaxaca to Coatzacoalcos on the coast.  I’m totally exhausted, and the final 2 hours I had the bike cranked at a steady 140-150kmph to try to arrive here before dark.  It’s a really nice hotel, but I’m afraid I won’t see much of it.  I’m asleep before even turning off the lights.

Categories: Mexico | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – Rumbling down the Road

  1. Bruce Janisse

    Why no new comments or notes or posts?

  2. brucejanisse

    I have not received any info since Day 16?
    Is it just me?

Let's hear what you think!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

