Day 18 – Paradise in Merida

Alicia and Barry’s Casa in Merida is spectacular.  Huge rooms with high ceilings, a gorgeous pool and gardens, and even an outdoor bath tub.  They have 3 great dogs, although it takes most of my visit for one of them to warm up to me.  And their daughter Molly and her friend are in town visiting as well.

IMGP4317

My doggie friends in Alicia`s foyer

IMGP4312

Beautiful pool with gardens

IMGP4314

Bougainvillia

IMGP4310

My outdoor bathtub, with cannon faucet

We have a wonderful supper of mixed offerings from a nearby restaurant, and catch up on life.  Alicia was part of the Ontario Renaissance Festival 10 years ago, and it’s been almost as long since we’ve seen each other.  The wonders of Facebook to keep people in contact over distances and time.

I get a great night’s sleep, and in the morning we have a poolside breakfast.  My plan was to visit the local university Botanical Gardens, but it’s closed today.  Instead, we all head to Aqua Parque.  This is an old quarry that has been converting into ponds and gardens, with walkways, and is where they take their dogs.  Merida has experience huge rainfall in the last 6 months, and as a result the park is flooded.  We walk around anyways, splashing along pathways that are now 6 inches deep in water.  Everywhere are pond lilies in every colour imaginable.  This place would be magnificent but for the flooding.

IMGP4319

At the Aqua Parque, playing in the water

With the dog drying off from their swims, we grab some drinks to cool off, and say our goodbyes.  Its funny how natural goodbyes are for me within the RenFaire crowd.  I think we’re all gypsies at heart, and know that somewhere down the road our paths will always cross again, so goodbyes just mean good travels, and that we’ll have more stories to share later.

IMGP4321

Alicia on my bike

Now I’m off to Chichen Itza, the most famous of the Mayan ruins.  When I arrive I find out I only have about 45 minutes to check it out so I hurry around the place taking pictures, jealous of the people having picnics and doing yoga in front of the pyramid.  I wish I had more time.

IMGP4335

The neat thing about this place is that my mother had visited here 20 years ago, and I still remember the pictures.  I manage to take some from the exact same spots she did, and it helps bring me a bit closer to her (she passed away 10 years ago).  In a strange way, it’s almost like I wasn’t there alone.

IMGP4344

The Ball Court at Chichen Itza

IMGP4338

The ball ring at Chichen Itza

And, tomorrow I won’t be.  I’m camped just down the road from the pyramids in a divey place, but tomorrow morning I pick up Rebecca and the next 2 weeks will be so nice to have her with me.

Categories: Mexico | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 18 – Paradise in Merida

  1. Sir Ron Newman L.O.L

    Congrats Stephen a.k.a Wolf you are almost there to Rebecca I mean and after that ride I’m positive that will be the best.
    Joanne & Jack should be in Phoenix now and your Dad & Heather leaving today so I guess you will all hook up very soon.
    Say Hello to Rebecca, Ken,Heather & Jack & Joanne when see them from Doris & I and as I’ve said be safe take care and I will keep following you by your posts.Wish I could be there.Love all the pictures.

Let's hear what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

